Daily News coronavirus archive

The Daily News has lifted the subscriber pay wall for local stories and select regional and national items related to the new coronavirus. To support such reporting now and in the future please consider a digital subscription.

Friday, July 03, 2020
  • Updated

Public Health – Idaho North Central District reported one more positive COVID-19 test Thursday in Latah County, bringing the total number this…

Thursday, July 02, 2020
  • Updated

Public Health – Idaho North Central District reported the largest one-day spike in confirmed coronavirus cases in Latah County on Wednesday af…

  • Updated

The Latah County Public Library District reopened all of its branches, including the Moscow Public Library, but a return to normal may still b…

  • Updated

Moscow’s mandatory facemask order, which has drawn mixed feelings from residents, was not implemented in response to any single event in the c…

  • Updated

In an email to University of Idaho faculty last week, Interim Provost and Executive Vice President Torrey Lawrence outlined a clearer picture …

Wednesday, July 01, 2020
  • Updated

Moscow Mayor Bill Lambert issued a public health emergency order Tuesday requiring face coverings to be worn in indoor and outdoor public sett…

Tuesday, June 30, 2020
  • Updated

About 1,000 people — most or all of whom did not wear face masks nor adhere to social distancing guidelines — attended a Christ Church joint s…

  • Updated

The Community Action Center is working to secure more motel rooms in Pullman and Colfax where people infected with COVID-19 can quarantine if …

  • Updated

The Idaho State Board of Education has received $4 million from the federal coronavirus relief bill to improve the delivery of online educatio…

Monday, June 29, 2020
  • Updated

With the world and region continuing to grapple with a global pandemic, local Independence Day celebrations are expected to take on a slightly…

  • Updated

OLYMPIA — Washington Gov. Jay Inslee announced Saturday that a recent increase in coronavirus numbers means counties won’t be able to move to …

Saturday, June 27, 2020

Washington State University is finalizing strategies for how to handle the fall semester in the midst of a pandemic, among them are plans to l…

Friday, June 26, 2020

BOISE — The state will remain in the fourth and final stage of a reopening plan that had been due to expire this weekend, Idaho Gov. Brad Litt…

Thursday, June 25, 2020

A summer day camp at Phillips Farm will end its second and final week of activities Friday, and while adjustments have been made for the sake …

Rather than engage in an expensive and likely fruitless legal challenge, Hardware Brewing Co. in Kendrick has chosen to pay a $2,500 fine for …

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

OLYMPIA — Citing ongoing coronavirus-related health risks, Washington Gov. Jay Inslee on Tuesday announced a statewide requirement for people …

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Two parking spaces have been turned into a walkway for pedestrians so Cafe Artista, Kitchen Counter, Mad Greek and Tapped can expand their out…

Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020

Latah County Fair Manager Jim Logan said he is still planning for the fair to happen in three months, but modifications are expected because o…

Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020

The Whitman County Commissioners on Monday voted to cancel this year’s Palouse Empire Fair because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Monday, June 15, 2020
Saturday, June 13, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020

Senate Republican Leader Mark Schoesler this week reiterated his call for a special legislative session to address Wa…

The Washington Interscholastic Activities Association took steps Wednesday to move forward with plans to conduct a fa…

Twenty volunteers belonging to a Pullman church and regional nonprofit spent part of Wednesday distributing thousands…

The University of Idaho is set to lose more than $7 million in revenue by the end of the month because of the COVID-1…

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

The University of Idaho Faculty Senate has released a proposal for how furloughs expected in the coming fiscal year s…

Tuesday, June 09, 2020

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The U.S. economy entered a recession in February as the coronavirus struck the nation, a group of …

Monday, June 08, 2020

With pandemic-related restrictions continuing to ease in Idaho, Moscow’s weekly farmers market has returned to the ci…

Whitman County Public Health officials announced Sunday there were six new confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the county …

Saturday, June 06, 2020

A performance review of Washington State University President Kirk Schulz released Friday by the university is packed…

Friday, June 05, 2020
Thursday, June 04, 2020

The Pullman Regional Hospital Board of Commissioners voted Wednesday to wait on deciding whether to expand the hospit…

An Idaho unemployment claims call center introduced this week was overwhelmed by citizens seeking financial relief af…

Wednesday, June 03, 2020

Idaho Gov. Brad Little said late last week he aims for all public K-12 schools in the state to reopen to live instruc…

Tuesday, June 02, 2020
Monday, June 01, 2020
Saturday, May 30, 2020