Daily News coronavirus archive

The Daily News has lifted the subscriber pay wall for local stories and select regional and national items related to the new coronavirus. To support such reporting now and in the future please consider a digital subscription.

Saturday, September 19, 2020
  • Updated

The coronavirus pandemic has cast uncertainty over music programs across the country, but with the support of her mother, Moscow High School m…

  • Updated

Garden harvest season is in full swing on the Palouse, but its arrival has some growers scrambling to figure out how to preserve their food.

Friday, September 18, 2020
  • Updated

School reputation and its effect on enrollment were points of discussion in a virtual meeting of Washington State University’s Board of Regent…

Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
  • Updated

Gritman Medical Center’s health care-acquired infection rate is already well below the national average, and a $125,000 state-of-the-art ultra…

  • Updated

The Pullman City Council unanimously passed a revised ordinance that strengthens enforcement of COVID-19-related codes at parties.

Tuesday, September 15, 2020
  • Updated

Latah County commissioners on Monday rejected $1.9 million in state initiative funding — which would have provided property tax relief to loca…

Saturday, September 12, 2020
  • Updated

BOISE — Gov. Brad Little on Friday restored $99 million in K-12 education funding he cut earlier this year amid budget shortfall concerns beca…

Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
  • Updated

With its original Sept. 2 first day of school pushed to Monday, teachers and administrators with the Moscow School District say the extra days…

  • Updated

In the past three weeks, there have been four COVID-19 outbreaks in congregate settings in Whitman County, including in Washington State Unive…

Wednesday, September 09, 2020
  • Updated

Two new COVID-19 testing sites set up shop in Pullman on Tuesday as Washington State University and the City of Pullman continue to grapple wi…

Tuesday, September 08, 2020
Monday, September 07, 2020
Saturday, September 05, 2020
  • Updated

Washington State University is encouraging its students to stay in Pullman this Labor Day weekend for fear of spreading COVID-19 to other comm…

Friday, September 04, 2020
Thursday, September 03, 2020
  • Updated

As a sharp rise in new cases of COVID-19 continues somewhat unabated in Whitman County, Washington State University has redoubled efforts to t…

  • Updated

Mental health therapists’ caseloads are bulging. Waiting lists for appointments are growing. And anxiety and depression are rising among Ameri…

  • Updated

Moscow Mayor Bill Lambert issued a public health emergency order Wednesday that temporarily suspends day care and zoning regulations for tempo…

Wednesday, September 02, 2020
  • Updated

Latah County Clerk/Auditor/Recorder Henrianne Westberg is strongly encouraging absentee voting this November to protect voters, election staff…

  • Updated

High school sports are back on the docket for Moscow High School this fall, and teams already have begun penciling in their schedules to take …

  • Updated

The National Guard will begin testing Washington State University students and employees for COVID-19 next week in an effort to increase testi…

Tuesday, September 01, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
  • Updated

Owners of Slice Pizzeria and Taphouse are planning around $1.4 million in renovations that will add two stories of commercial and residential …

Sunday, August 30, 2020
  • Updated

Washington State University is stepping up efforts to educate students regarding health and safety requirements as cases of COVID-19 continue …

Saturday, August 29, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
  • Updated

Even with classrooms and hallways empty, teachers and administrators with the Pullman School District said their firs…

Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
  • Updated

The beginning of the fall semester for Washington State University and the University of Idaho has been marked by ris…

Monday, August 24, 2020
Saturday, August 22, 2020
  • Updated

Although the prospects of playing fall sports in the spring are still iffy, the NCAA on Friday made a move signifying…

  • Updated

BOISE — Idaho will remain in the fourth and final stage for reopening the economy for at least another two weeks as c…

Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
  • Updated

With the fall semester rapidly approaching and COVID-19 infection rates in the region showing no signs of slowing, lo…

  • Updated

As athletic programs and universities seek to put together the financial puzzle pieces scattered by a worldwide pande…

  • Updated

Idaho Gov. Brad Little set the boundaries of next week’s special legislative session Wednesday, issuing a proclamatio…

  • Updated

Pullman Police Department Chief Gary Jenkins said police have seen an increase in parties and gatherings the past few…

Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
  • Updated

Both Washington State University and University of Idaho Greek communities have implemented guidelines to prevent the…

Monday, August 17, 2020
  • Updated

WASHINGTON — President Donald Trump has found a new doctor for his coronavirus task force — and this time there’s no …

Sunday, August 16, 2020
  • Updated

Despite unexpected changes — including a two-month cancellation and location switch — Cherle Poulson’s tone and stret…

Saturday, August 15, 2020
  • Updated

LEWISTON — Local educators and pediatricians involved in a roundtable discussion with Idaho Gov. Brad Little advocate…

  • Updated

The University of Idaho announced Friday it has identified 34 positive cases of COVID-19 since it first began testing…

Friday, August 14, 2020