Daily News coronavirus archive

The Daily News has lifted the subscriber pay wall for local stories and select regional and national items related to the new coronavirus. To support such reporting now and in the future please consider a digital subscription.

Wednesday, March 02, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Saturday, February 19, 2022
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022
Tuesday, February 08, 2022
Saturday, February 05, 2022
Thursday, February 03, 2022
Wednesday, January 26, 2022
  • Updated

BOISE — A national blood shortage caused by a surge in omicron cases has hit Idaho hard, with some hospitals nearly running out of the critica…

Tuesday, January 25, 2022
  • Updated

The rapid spread of COVID-19 did not slow down during the weekend on the Palouse as health care officials reported more than 400 new cases sin…

Friday, January 21, 2022
Thursday, January 20, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Saturday, January 15, 2022
Friday, January 14, 2022
Thursday, January 13, 2022
  • Updated

Public Health – Idaho North Central District reported 58 cases of COVID-19 in Latah County on Wednesday, with the majority of infections in yo…

Saturday, January 08, 2022
Friday, January 07, 2022
Thursday, January 06, 2022
Wednesday, January 05, 2022
  • Updated

The University of Idaho is continuing its mask requirement into the spring semester to reduce the spread of COVID-19 in response to the antici…

  • Updated

BOISE — Doctor’s offices and urgent care centers are bracing for impact as they again face high patient demand and more staffers out sick from…

  • Updated

Whitman County Public Health reported 61 new cases and 17 additional hospitalizations related to COVID-19 in the county Tuesday since the agen…

Tuesday, January 04, 2022
Friday, December 31, 2021

Whitman County Public Health reported nine new cases and four additional hospitalizations related to COVID-19 in the county on Thursday.

Thursday, December 30, 2021
Wednesday, December 29, 2021
Tuesday, December 28, 2021
Friday, December 24, 2021
Thursday, December 23, 2021
Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Tuesday, December 21, 2021
Saturday, December 18, 2021
  • Updated

Moscow’s wastewater testing program detected the COVID-19 Omicron variant in recent test results, the city announced Friday.

Thursday, December 16, 2021
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Saturday, December 11, 2021
  • Updated

BOISE — Public health officials Friday reported Idaho’s first case of the coronavirus omicron variant, found in an adult who recently traveled…

Friday, December 10, 2021
  • Updated

Some hospitals in the region are pausing enforcement of President Joe Biden’s national COVID-19 vaccine mandate for health care workers after …

Thursday, December 09, 2021
Wednesday, December 08, 2021
Tuesday, December 07, 2021
Friday, December 03, 2021
Thursday, December 02, 2021
  • Updated

SAN FRANCISCO — The U.S. recorded its first confirmed case of the omicron variant Wednesday — in a vaccinated travele…

Wednesday, December 01, 2021
  • Updated

Health officials in Idaho believe it’s only a matter of time — possibly even a few weeks — before the omicron variant of the coronavirus is detected in the United States.

Saturday, November 27, 2021
  • Updated

BRUSSELS — Nearly two years into the COVID-19 pandemic, the world raced Friday to contain a new coronavirus variant p…

Wednesday, November 24, 2021
  • Updated

The University of Idaho is continuing its mask mandate inside all buildings on campus after students return from fall break.

  • Updated

BOISE — Idaho Gov. Brad Little and the state’s top health official in what is likely their last coronavirus town hall…

Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021
  • Updated

Two new deaths related to COVID-19 were reported Wednesday on the Palouse, including one death in Latah County and an…

Wednesday, November 17, 2021
Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Saturday, November 13, 2021
Friday, November 12, 2021
Thursday, November 11, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Monday, November 08, 2021
Saturday, November 06, 2021
Friday, November 05, 2021
  • Updated

Public Health — Idaho North Central District reported one new death related to COVID-19 on Thursday in Latah County.

Thursday, November 04, 2021
Wednesday, November 03, 2021
Tuesday, November 02, 2021
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Saturday, October 23, 2021
Friday, October 22, 2021
  • Updated

Since June 1, more than 75 percent of people hospitalized with COVID-19 at Gritman Medical Center have been unvaccinated.

Thursday, October 21, 2021
Wednesday, October 20, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
  • Updated

In a move that will resonate throughout the sports world and beyond, Washington State fired its football coach Monday…

  • Updated

Local school districts continue to identify COVID-19 cases among students and staff, but administrators say mask-wear…

Saturday, October 16, 2021
Friday, October 15, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021
  • Updated

A panelist at the University of Idaho’s Borah Symposium on Monday said inequitable COVID-19 vaccine distribution worl…

Friday, October 08, 2021
Thursday, October 07, 2021
  • Updated

Boats moored near the ice rink in downtown McCall. The photo was taken the evening of Sept. 24 by Chris Dopke, of Moscow.

Wednesday, October 06, 2021