Daily News coronavirus archive

The Daily News has lifted the subscriber pay wall for local stories and select regional and national items related to the new coronavirus. To support such reporting now and in the future please consider a digital subscription.

Wednesday, May 12, 2021
  • Updated

Without enough time to plan the National Lentil Festival this year, the Pullman Chamber of Commerce may instead try to organize a smaller even…

Tuesday, May 11, 2021
  • Updated

Public Health – Idaho North Central District reported 21 new cases of COVID-19 in its five-county region Monday, including 11 cases in Latah C…

Saturday, May 08, 2021
  • Updated

The United Kingdom variant of COVID-19 was the dominant strain in Moscow’s wastewater, according to test results received last month.

Friday, May 07, 2021
  • Updated

University of Idaho President Scott Green highlighted the university’s response to COVID-19, as well as the school’s efforts to correct a budg…

Thursday, May 06, 2021
  • Updated

Public Health – Idaho North Central District reported 20 new cases of COVID-19 in its five-county region Wednesday, including nine in Latah Co…

Wednesday, May 05, 2021
  • Updated

Whitman County will remain in Phase 2 of Washington Gov. Jay Inslee’s phased COVID-19 reopening plan as the governor announced all counties mu…

Tuesday, May 04, 2021
  • Updated

Whitman County’s health director is anticipating the county will remain in Phase 2 of Gov. Jay Inslee’s COVID-19 phased reopening plan as it a…

Saturday, May 01, 2021
Friday, April 30, 2021
  • Updated

Three COVID-19 cases were reported Thursday in Latah County and Whitman County Public Health did not update its case count Thursday.

Thursday, April 29, 2021
  • Updated

Washington State University announced Wednesday that students must provide proof they have received the COVID-19 vaccine before they can take …

Wednesday, April 28, 2021
Tuesday, April 27, 2021
  • Updated

BOISE — Legislation approved by lawmakers in the House prohibiting mask mandates by government entities in Idaho won’t get a hearing in the Se…

  • Updated

Forty-one new COVID-19 cases were reported Monday in Whitman and Latah counties, according to local health agencies.

Saturday, April 24, 2021
Friday, April 23, 2021
  • Updated

The Pullman Police Department chief said his staff is taking an education-first approach when responding to large parties to give the public t…

  • Updated

Public Health – Idaho North Central District reported 12 new cases of COVID-19 in its five-county region Thursday, including four cases in Lat…

Thursday, April 22, 2021
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Friday, April 16, 2021
  • Updated

OLYMPIA — Democratic Gov. Jay Inslee on Thursday warned that Washington state was on the cusp of a fourth COVID-19 wave with case numbers and …

  • Updated

Washington State University’s Cougar Health Services has set a goal to vaccinate at least 2,000 students by the end of the spring semester, th…

Thursday, April 15, 2021
  • Updated

BOISE — The House on Wednesday approved legislation prohibiting mask mandates by government entities in Idaho, voting 47-22 with no Democratic…

Wednesday, April 14, 2021
Tuesday, April 13, 2021
  • Updated

Whitman County is one of three Washington counties that will move back to Phase 2 in Washington’s phased reopening plan, Gov. Jay Inslee’s off…

Saturday, April 10, 2021
  • Updated

Public health agencies in Whitman and Latah counties reported 23 new cases of COVID-19 on Friday, as well as two new deaths attributed to the virus.

Friday, April 09, 2021
  • Updated

With pandemic pressures and volatile school scheduling causing more students to fall behind on their classwork than in a normal year, Moscow a…

  • Updated

The year 2020 was far from normal, yet statistically, the year was about normal for the Moscow Volunteer Fire Department.

Wednesday, April 07, 2021
  • Updated

Swimming, lounging and sunburns will once again be allowed this summer at Moscow’s Hamilton-Lowe Aquatics Center after the city facility remai…

  • Updated

Public Health — Idaho North Central District reported nine new cases of COVID-19 in its five-county jurisdiction Tuesday, seven of which were …

Tuesday, April 06, 2021
Monday, April 05, 2021
Saturday, April 03, 2021
  • Updated

Whitman County Public Health on Friday issued an emergency order restricting certain gatherings in response to a recent rise in COVID-19 infec…

  • Updated

NEW YORK — Add travel to the activities vaccinated Americans can safely enjoy again, according to new U.S. guidance issued Friday.

Friday, April 02, 2021
Thursday, April 01, 2021
  • Updated

Public Health – Idaho North Central District reported five new cases of COVID-19 in its five-county region Wednesday, four of which were in La…

Wednesday, March 31, 2021
Tuesday, March 30, 2021
  • Updated

In a letter posted on Washington State University’s Facebook page, university administrators urged students to “do better” to combat a recent …

Monday, March 29, 2021
Friday, March 26, 2021
Thursday, March 25, 2021
Wednesday, March 24, 2021
Tuesday, March 23, 2021
  • Updated

OLYMPIA — Washington state advanced to Phase 3 of its COVID-19 reopening plan on Monday.

Monday, March 22, 2021
Saturday, March 20, 2021
Friday, March 19, 2021
  • Updated

BOISE — A fourth lawmaker in the Idaho House of Representatives has tested positive for COVID-19 in less than a week’…

  • Updated

BOISE — Idaho Gov. Brad Little laid out his priorities for the next round of federal stimulus funding Thursday, sayin…

Thursday, March 18, 2021
  • Updated

Fourteen downtown Moscow establishments extended their business footprints into Main Street sidewalks last year, and …

Wednesday, March 17, 2021
  • Updated

With vaccination programs progressing across the country, the general public is closing in on its turn for a poke. Wa…

Tuesday, March 16, 2021
Monday, March 15, 2021
Saturday, March 13, 2021
Friday, March 12, 2021
Thursday, March 11, 2021
  • Updated

WASHINGTON, D.C. — A Congress riven along party lines has approved the landmark $1.9 trillion COVID-19 relief bill, a…

Wednesday, March 10, 2021
Tuesday, March 09, 2021
  • Updated

NEW YORK — Fully vaccinated Americans can gather with other vaccinated people indoors without wearing a mask or socia…

  • Updated

An eighth COVID-19 death was reported in Latah County, according to Public Health – Idaho North Central District. The…

Saturday, March 06, 2021
Friday, March 05, 2021
  • Updated

OLYMPIA — Workers in agriculture and grocery stores will be eligible for the COVID-19 vaccine starting March 22, as w…

Tuesday, March 02, 2021
Saturday, February 27, 2021
Friday, February 26, 2021
Thursday, February 25, 2021
  • Updated

Health officials in Idaho have confirmed the first known infection of a person in the Gem State with the United Kingdom variant of the coronavirus, which is known to spread more easily and quickly.

Wednesday, February 24, 2021
  • Updated

Leaders with the Moscow School District are finalizing plans to shift all of its schools to four days of in-person in…

Tuesday, February 23, 2021
  • Updated

For weeks after Cindy Pollock began planting tiny flags across her yard — one for each of the more than 1,800 Idahoans killed by COVID-19 — the toll was mostly a number. Until two women she had never met rang her doorbell in tears, seeking a place to mourn the husband and father they had just lost.

Friday, February 19, 2021
  • Updated

Eleven new cases of COVID-19 were reported Thursday in Latah and Whitman counties, according to local health agencies.

Thursday, February 18, 2021
  • Updated

Whitman and Latah counties reported 10 new cases of COVID-19 Wednesday, pushing their case totals to 3,265 and 2,626 …

Wednesday, February 17, 2021
Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Monday, February 15, 2021
Saturday, February 13, 2021

Clinics and pharmacies in north central Idaho have administered 60 percent of the 18,875 doses of COVID-19 vaccine available in the five-county region, according to a Friday update posted by the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare.