WHITMAN COUNTY LIBRARY

“Spiced” by America’s Test Kitchen

If salt and pepper are your go to spices, then this spicy cookbook is for you. With six chapters, six simple steps and vibrant recipes that will show you how to unlock the power of spices to transform your cooking from ho hum to yum.

“The Bacon Bible” by Peter Sherman

This cookbook encourages you to cook with bacon in unexpected ways. It sizzles with more than 200 recipes including bacon ramen, chipotle bacon tacos and bacon bourbon oatmeal pancakes, as well as, the classics like bacon mac and cheese. It also teaches you the basics of bacon, like how to cure simple bacon from scratch.

“The Food in Jars Kitchen” by Marisa McClellan

This innovative cookbook shows you how to take that pantry full of preserved jams and jellies and use them for something other than toast. Filled with 140 creative recipes that incorporate preserved food into everyday meals.

NEILL PUBLIC LIBRARY

“Black Enough: Stories of Being Young & Black in America” By Ibi Zoboi

“Black Enough” is an anthology featuring some of the most acclaimed bestselling Black authors writing for teens today. Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, “Black Enough” delves into a spectrum of backgrounds from the closeted thoughts, hidden experiences, and daily struggles of black teens across the country. An essential collection of captivating stories about what it’s like to be young and Black in America.

“Camp” By Kayla Miller

For fans of “Smile” and “Real Friends” comes a graphic novel about venturing off to summer camp for the first time and stepping out of one’s comfort zone. Author-illustrator Kayla Miller is back with Olive in this emotional and honest story about navigating new experiences, learning to step outside one’s comfort zone and the satisfaction of blazing your own trails.

“Beware of the Crocodile” By Martin Jenkins

An informative, playfully illustrated exploration of one of the world’s most dangerous animals: the crocodile. This fascinating look at one of Earth’s most infamous creatures is full of information with back matter that includes an index, notes on species and suggestions for further reading.

Recommended for you