COEUR D’ALENE — Idaho women’s basketball star Mikayla Ferenz and Moscow’s Makena Rauch, Max Mortimer and Gabe Quinnett were among those honored Saturday at the 57th North Idaho Sports Awards Banquet, hosted by the Idaho Athletics Hall of Fame.

Ferenz was named co-Female Athlete of the Year in the collegiate division.

The 2018-19 Big Sky Player of the Year led Idaho to the regular-season conference title and two wins in the WNIT. Ferenz averaged 22 points, 5.3 rebounds and 3.9 assists per game, finishing her career with a school- and Big Sky-record 2,466 points. She made 415 three-pointers in her career, becoming the sixth woman in NCAA history to eclipse 400 3-pointers.

Rauch, Mortimer and Quinnett were honored in their respective sports — girls’ golf, boys’ soccer and boys’ basketball.

Rauch finished second last year at the 4A state tournament and recently was one shot off the record at Bryden Canyon Golf Course in Lewiston. Mortimer and Quinnett led their teams to district titles and appearances at State.


Boys Golf – Brayden Ogle, Coeur d’Alene.

Girls Golf – Makena Rauch, Moscow.

Boys Track Class 5A-4A: Tyler Trengove, Post Falls. 3A-1A: Nic Griffin, Troy.

Girls Track – 5A-4A: Keara Simpson, Lake City. 3A-1A: Tona Anderson, Deary.

Boys Tennis – Jack DuCoeur, Lake City.

Girls Tennis – Madi Whittemore, Coeur d’Alene.

Girls Softball – 5A-4A: Haley Loffer, Lake City. 3A-1A: Kadi Bateman, Bonners Ferry.

Boys Baseball – 5A-4A: Co-Players Kyle Manzardo, Lake City; and Kodie Kolden, Lake City. 3A-1A: Co-Players: Brady Bateman, Bonners Ferry; and Chase Atkinson, Grangeville.

Girls Volleyball – 5A-4A: Co-Players Klaire Mitchell, Lake City; and Ashley Kaufman, Lake City. 3A-1A: Co-Players Kenzie Dean, Timberlake and Lindsey Kwate, Troy.

Boys Soccer – Co Players: Max Mortimer, Moscow and Isaac Wilson, Bonners Ferry.

Girls Soccer – Co Players: Bridget Rieken, Lake City and Riley Walkington, Sandpoint.

Boys Cross Country – Chad Humphreys, Coeur d’Alene.

Girls Cross Country – Lauren Forster, Coeur d’Alene.

Boys Swimming – Aren Kariotis, Lake City.

Girls Swimming – Mikayla Schoening, Sandpoint.

Boys Football – 5A-4A: Kale Edwards, Coeur d’Alene. 3A-1A: Noah Kaschmitter, Grangeville.

Girls basketball – 5A-4A: Kendyll Kinzer, Lewiston. 3A-1A: Brooke Jessen, Timberlake.

Boys Basketball – 5A-4A: Gabe Quinnett, Moscow. 3A-1A: Dacota Hadaller, Potlatch.

Boys wrestling – 5A-4A: Ridge Lovett, Post Falls. 3A-1A: Peyton Whipple, Kamiah.

Boys Team of the Year – 5A-4A: Post Falls wrestling. 3A-1A: Prairie basketball.

Girls Team of the Year – 5A-4A: Lake City volleyball. 3A-1A: Troy volleyball.

Boys Coach of the Year – 5A-4A: Peter Reardon, Post Falls wrestling. 3A-1A: Co-Coaches: Tom Turpin, Bonners Ferry baseball and Ryan Ball, Potlatch football and basketball.

Girls Coach of the Year – 5A-4A: Connor Baranski, Sandpoint soccer. 3A-1A: Stacy Smith, Coeur d’Alene Charter soccer.

Male Athlete of the Year – 5A-4A: Co-Athletes of the Year: Kale Edwards, Coeur d’Alene and Carter Friesz, Coeur d’Alene. 3A-1A Spencer Schumacher, Prairie.

Female Athlete of the Year – 5A-4A: Co-Player of the Year: Klaire Mitchell, Lake City and Ashley Kauffman, Lake City. 3A-1A: Brooke Stevens, Clark Fork.


Team of the Year – Co-Team of the Year: Lewis-Clark State College men’s basketball and North Idaho College women’s softball.

Coach of the Year – Corey Symonds, NIC men’s basketball.

Female Athlete of the Year – Co-Winners: Mikayla Ferenz, UI basketball and Vanessa Shippy, Oklahoma State softball.

Male Athlete of the Year – RayQuan Evans, NIC basketball.

Recommended for you