This series of stories, about the deaths of area residents age 50 and younger, is intended to help us understand more fully where we live and who lives among us. The goal is to better understand the struggles we endure as individuals and as a community. The stories are written, researched and produced by the editorial staff of the Moscow-Pullman Daily News. Read more

Over the past year, the Daily News has tried to tell the stories of the life - and death - of 30 residents from Oct. 1, 2014, to Sept. 30, 2015. All were under 50 and lived in the area from Colfax to Juliaetta and Bovill to Colton. Most died here or nearby. One died in Hawaii. Read more

Saturday, December 19, 2015

Joshua Babcock spent much of the past year thinking and writing about why young people, like him, have died. The 25-year-old reporter for the Moscow-Pullman Daily News has been involved in an innovative, controversial and sometimes exhausting project documenting the deaths of 32 people who died locally before the age of 50.

Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015

"We remember all the babies born sleeping, those we've carried but never met, those we've held but could not take home, the ones that came home but could not stay," were the well-known words linked to a gofundme.com account for week-old Autumn Marie Conklin in late September.

Friday, November 27, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Friday, November 06, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Friday, August 07, 2015

It's common knowledge military families do their best to make do - even in the worst of circumstances. And Colfax, Wash., couple Danie and Christopher Hall have been going through an especially difficult period as they mourn the death of their baby. Lane Brantley Hall was born in late January and died less than three months later on April 19.

Friday, July 31, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015

Rachel Phillips was 18 when she met Joe Raiden working at the same Lewiston Goodwill in 1994. She was only in high school, and she was in love. "It didn't occur to us that we were too young or that we had disabilities," Joe said. "You just don't think about that stuff. She made me happy all the time."

Friday, June 26, 2015

Dina Williamson spent her 28th birthday telling others about a homemade card from her son and buying a round of fried ice cream for co-workers at Red Bento in Pullman. Nothing about that was out of the ordinary for her, though. She was described as a caring, excited, passionate and loving woman.

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Violet Marie Smith knew how to make an entrance, often arriving a little late, even from the very beginning. "I didn't even know I was carrying twins until it was time for delivery," her mother, Patricia Smith, said. "I thought I was done and the doctor said, 'Looks like there's one more.' "

Friday, June 19, 2015

When Herma Amalia left her home in Bogor, Indonesia, two-and-a-half years ago, she wanted to find America. Her work had already led the 29-year-old to agricultural conferences in Japan, the Philippines, Peru and beyond, but Amalia always dreamed of more.

Friday, June 12, 2015

Belinda Niebuhr used to tell her children, "just because it's the end of the chapter doesn't mean it's the end of the story," her daughter Kayleigh Patterson said.

Friday, May 29, 2015
Friday, May 01, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015

Kalkidan Qualls was a tiny girl with a big presence, her mother, Lisa, said. A lover of basketball and the culinary arts, the 13-year-old planned one day to play in the WNBA and to own a restaurant called Your Mouth on Fire.

Friday, March 06, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Friday, February 06, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Friday, December 12, 2014
Friday, November 07, 2014
Saturday, October 18, 2014
Saturday, October 04, 2014

This series of stories, about the deaths of area residents age 50 and younger, is intended to help us understand more fully where we live and who lives among us. The goal is to better understand the struggles we endure as individuals and as a community. The stories are written, researched and produced by the editorial staff of the Moscow-Pullman Daily News.